Mark\’s Rants, Raves And Other Things ;)

Rants and raves about things that interest me

An experiment in geotagging

Posted by Mark Sztainbok on March 2, 2008

Geotagging is the processing of adding GPS information (such as latitude and longitude) to photos.

Given the number of places we are going to on our trip, I’ve decided that I’m going to geotag all of my photos so that it is easy to identify where I took them and also so that others can see the physical location where they were taken. Additionally it will provide a nice travel map of where we went on our trip.

In order to do this, I purchased a GiSTEQ PhotoTrackr GPS logger, which also comes with some expectionally good geotagging software.

As I only received the logger last week, I decided to try out the new GPS logger today and see how well it works.

In order to do this, I had to do the following:

  1. Take the GPS logger outside to get an inital satellite lock
  2. Synchronize my camera with the GPS time by connecting the logger to the computer and manually setting the time on the camera
  3. Turn on the GPS logger so it starts logging
  4. Take the GPS logger with me as I took photos
  5. Once home, turn off the logger and download the GPS logs and photos to the computer
  6. Use the PhotoTrackr software to map the photo times with the GPS logs and tag the photos with the GPS location
  7. Upload the photos to Flickr and my Gallery site.

The results can be seen on my Flickr and Gallery sites.

Leave a Reply

 
